Prestige Classes

Hellknight Details | Disciplines | Orders


Source Adventurer's Guide pg. 90, Inner Sea World Guide pg. 278
Not all who start as novice armigers have what it takes to become a full-fledged Hellknight, but those who do receive a wide array of abilities as they grow more powerful. While the individual powers and focus of a particular Hellknight vary according to his order, all Hellknights are universally feared and respected in regions where they maintain a presence. Most Hellknights are lawful neutral and proudly avoid being “tainted” by distractions such as good or evil, but some who rise in power shift toward tyrannical and cruel natures.


To qualify to become a Hellknight, a character must fulfill the following criteria.

Alignment: Any lawful.
Armor Proficiency: Must be proficient with heavy armor.
Base Attack Bonus: +5.
Skills: Intimidate 5 ranks, Knowledge (planes) 2 ranks.
Special: The character must slay a devil with Hit Dice greater than his character level. This victory must be witnessed by a Hellknight.

Class Skills

The Hellknight's class skills are Intimidate (Cha), Knowledge (local) (Int), Perception (Wis), Ride (Dex), and Sense Motive (Wis).

Skill Points at each Level: 2 + Int modifier.
Hit Die: d10.

Class Features

LevelBase Attack BonusFort SaveRef SaveWill SaveSpecial
1st+1+1+0+0Aura of law, detect chaos, order, smite chaos 1/day
2nd+2+1+1+1Discern lies, Hellknight armor 1
3rd+3+2+1+11st discipline, force of will 1
4th+4+2+1+1Smite chaos 2/day
5th+5+3+2+2Hellknight armor 2
6th+6+3+2+22nd discipline, force of will 2
7th+7+4+2+2Lawbringer, smite chaos 3/day
8th+8+4+3+3Hellknight armor 3
9th+9+5+3+33rd discipline, force of will 3, infernal armor
10th+10+5+3+3Hell’s knight, smite chaos 4/day

The following are class features of the Hellknight.

Aura of Law (Ex): A Hellknight’s lawful aura (see the detect law spell) functions as that of a cleric whose level is equal to the Hellknight’s character level.

Detect Chaos (Sp): This ability functions like the paladin’s detect evil class feature, save that it grants the use of detect chaos instead.

Order: A character must choose one Hellknight order to join at 1st level (see page 89 for a list of orders). The choice of order determines which disciplines the character later gains access to.

Smite Chaos (Su): This ability functions as the paladin’s smite evil class feature but against chaotic-aligned creatures. This ability is twice as effective against outsiders with the chaotic subtype, chaotic-aligned aberrations, and fey.

Discern Lies (Sp): At 2nd level, a Hellknight can use discern lies as a spell-like ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + his Charisma modifier with a caster level equal to his character level.

Hellknight Armor (Ex): At 2nd level, a Hellknight earns the right to wear Hellknight plate (see page 97), which does not reduce his speed. While wearing this armor, the Hellknight reduces its armor check penalty by 1 and increases the maximum Dexterity bonus allowed by 1. At 5th level, these adjustments increase to 2. At 8th level, these adjustments increase to 3.

Disciplines: At 3rd level, a Hellknight gains access to his first discipline, choosing one associated with his specific order. At 6th level, the Hellknight gains a second discipline, choosing from any listed as being available to “any order.” At 9th level, the Hellknight gains his third discipline, choosing this one from any of the disciplines listed below, even those from another order, with the exception of pentamic faith. When applicable, the save DC to resist a discipline’s effect is equal to 10 + the Hellknight’s level + his Charisma modifier. The Hellknight can use any one discipline a number of times per day equal to the total number of disciplines he has access to, so at 3rd level he can use his discipline once per day. At 6th level, he can use both disciplines twice per day each. At 9th level, he can use all three of his disciplines three times per day.

See here for a full list of Hellknight Disciplines.

Force of Will (Ex): At 3rd level, a Hellknight gains a +2 bonus on Will saves against spells with any one of the following subschools or descriptors: charm, compulsion, glamer, fear, figment, pattern, or phantasm. At 6th level, the Hellknight chooses another subschool or descriptor from the list and gains a +2 bonus on his Will saves against spells of that type, and the bonus provided by his first selection increases to +4. At 9th level, he chooses from the list again, and both previous selections increase by 2, so that he has a +6, a +4, and a +2 bonus, respectively, against spells of three different groups.

Lawbringer (Ex): At 7th level, a Hellknight’s attacks are treated as being lawful for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction.

Infernal Armor (Su): As long as he wears Hellknight armor, a 9th-level Hellknight gains a +2 bonus on all Charisma-related checks made while interacting with lawful, nongood creatures. In addition, while wearing the armor, he gains the ability to see perfectly in darkness of any kind, resistance to fire 30, resistance to acid 10, and resistance to cold 10.

Hell’s Knight (Su): At 10th level, a Hellknight can grant a weapon he wields or touches the axiomatic, flaming burst, or unholy weapon special ability. This weapon has this special ability as long as the Hellknight remains within 100 feet of the weapon, but a Hellknight can maintain only a single weapon’s granted special ability at a time. The Hellknight also becomes immune to fire while wearing Hellknight plate.